A Favorite Psalm, a Favorite Song

When things fell to pieces at our last church, my beautiful bride gave me a CD as a gift. It was Sandra McCraken’s album entitled simply Psalms. While the whole album proved to be an endless source of peace and comfort in that time, Send out Your Light based on Psalm 43 is one I find myself returning to continually.

Psalm 43 (ESV)

Vindicate me, O God, and defend my cause
    against an ungodly people,
from the deceitful and unjust man
    deliver me!
For you are the God in whom I take refuge;
    why have you rejected me?
Why do I go about mourning
    because of the oppression of the enemy?

Send out your light and your truth;
    let them lead me;
let them bring me to your holy hill
    and to your dwelling!
Then I will go to the altar of God,
    to God my exceeding joy,
and I will praise you with the lyre,
    O God, my God.

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
    and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
    my salvation and my God.

One thought on “A Favorite Psalm, a Favorite Song

Leave a Reply

