Mornings at the Mission: Isaiah 6:1-7

Each morning I offer a short devotion to the men under my care in the dorm. This is the spot where I share them with you, and keep a record of them for myself on the off chance I ever need them again. 

13503102_1755371871372976_9173605896437754040_o

In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple. Above it stood the seraphims: each one had six wings; with twain he covered his face, and with twain he covered his feet, and with twain he did fly.

And one cried unto another, and said,

Holy, holy, holy, is the Lord of hosts:
the whole earth is full of his glory.

And the posts of the door moved at the voice of him that cried, and the house was filled with smoke.

Then said I, Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts. Then flew one of the seraphims unto me, having a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with the tongs from off the altar: and he laid it upon my mouth, and said, Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin purged.

Today we meditated on Isaiah 6:1-7 and made two points: First, God is holy and cannot be in the presence of sin (Isaiah 59:2). Even Isaiah, the most righteous man in Israel at the time stood unclean before Yahweh… “Woe is me!” he cried. His guilt needed atoned for, just like ours. His cleansing came through a hot coal, ours came through the death of Jesus Christ that effectually accomplished salvation for all who would believe (Ephesians 1:3-7).

Second, even in the midst of chaos, God remains on his throne. Isaiah entered the temple at a time when all Israel was quaking in fear. Now that the good king Uzziah had died (2 Chronicles 26:16-23), they were afraid the judgment of God would come upon them through Assyria (which it would, see Isaiah 7:17-25). In the midst of this, Isaiah beholds Jesus seated on His throne (John 12:37-41), still reigning, still glorious, still in control. Just like Isaiah, we can be confident in a reigning Savior who is both good and powerful. Not only has he promised to bring good from ill (Romans 8:28), but he is able to do it (Psalm 33:8-9,  115:3, Daniel 4:35).

 

Leave a Reply

